Skip to content
English
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

How to Clear and Reset Availability for Shift-Based Positions

Clear previous Shift-Based Availability so employees can enter updated availability for an upcoming schedule.

Resetting availability allows managers to clear existing Shift-Based Availability and set employees back to Available, Unavailable, or No Preference.

This process applies specifically to Shift-Based Availability. It does not clear an employee's General Availability.

How to reset availability for shift based positions

Reset or Clear Shift-Based Availability

  1. In the left-side toolbar, select Setup.
  2. Select #6 – Manage Availability.
  3. In the Edit All row, hover over Clear/Reset.
  4. To clear availability for an individual employee, select the drop-down menu in the employee's row.
  5. Select the availability status you want the employee's Shift-Based Availability reset to:
    • Available
    • Unavailable
    • No Preference
  6. Click Save.
  7. Check Confirm Clearing Employee Availability.
  8. Click Continue.

After Resetting Availability

Resetting availability clears the employee's previous Shift-Based Availability selections and replaces them with the option selected during the reset.

If employees need to enter new availability, make sure their availability is Open.

Opening availability and resetting availability are separate actions:

  • Clear/Reset clears the previous Shift-Based Availability selections.
  • Open allows employees to enter or change their availability.
  • Closed prevents employees from making changes.

Employees do not need to submit or lock their availability after entering their new selections. Changes save automatically.

General Availability Is Not Reset

General Availability is not affected when Shift-Based Availability is reset.

Resetting an employee's Shift-Based Availability will not remove or clear the employee's existing General Availability.

At this time:

  • Managers cannot mass clear General Availability.
  • General Availability cannot be disabled.
  • Employees are responsible for updating or removing their General Availability as needed.

Important Notes

  • Clear/Reset applies to Shift-Based Availability.
  • Resetting availability does not clear General Availability.
  • Resetting and opening availability are separate actions.
  • If employees need to enter new availability after a reset, make sure availability is Open.
  • Shift-Based Availability changes save automatically. There is no Submit to Manager or employee locking step.
  • Employees may need to re-enter their Shift-Based Availability after it has been reset.

Need Additional Help?

If you have questions about resetting Shift-Based Availability or need assistance clearing and recollecting employee availability, contact SubItUp Support HERE and we can review your situation.